Contributor Profiles

These are the fine people that make PostgreSQL what it is today!

To suggest additions to the list, please email contributors@postgresql.org. Existing contributors can update their information in their user profile.

Core Team

For more information on the purpose of the core team, please click here.

Contributor Contribution
Peter Eisentraut (peter.eisentraut at enterprisedb.com)
EDB
Dresden, Germany
Works on the build system, porting, documentation, and the internationalization effort, and codes many other improvements.
Andres Freund (andres at anarazel.de)
Microsoft
San Francisco, USA
Pluggable table access methods, JIT, logical decoding, replication, performance, scalability, bug fixing and patch review.
Magnus Hagander (magnus at hagander.net)
Redpill Linpro
Stockholm, Sweden
Has done major work on the Win32 port, authentication system and more, and helps maintain the PostgreSQL websites and project infrastructure.
Jonathan Katz (jonathan.katz at excoventures.com)
Crunchy Data
New York, NY
General project advocacy, including press releases & @postgresql, contributions to and moderation of PostgreSQL websites. Various committee participation and board membership. Miscellaneous patches & review.
Tom Lane (tgl at sss.pgh.pa.us)
Crunchy Data
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Involved in all aspects of PostgreSQL, including bug evaluation and fixes, performance improvements, and major new features, such as schemas. He is also responsible for the optimizer.
Bruce Momjian (bruce at momjian.us)
EDB
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains the TODO list, codes, applies patches, and speaks at conferences.
Dave Page (dpage at pgadmin.org)
EDB
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Created and maintains pgAdmin, helps manage the postgresql.org websites and project infrastructure, and maintains the PostgreSQL installers.

Major Contributors

Contributor Contribution
Oleg Bartunov (obartunov at gmail.com)
Postgres Professional, Lomonosov Moscow State University
Moscow, Russia
Introduced the locale support, has contributed GiST, GIN and SP-GiST extendability infrastructures, full text search, KNN, NoSQL features (hstore and jsonb) and several extensions including fuzzy search (pg_trgm), support for tree-like structures and arrays. Currenty he is working on implementation of SQL/JSON standard from SQL-2016 and jsonb compression.
Joe Conway (mail at joeconway.com)
Crunchy Data
Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Set-returning functions, PL/R, dblink, tablefunc (crosstab), improved bytea and array data types, polymorphic arguments, multi-row VALUES, generate_series, pg_settings/related functions, has_*_privilege functions, shared_preload_libraries, and other features. PGDG sysadmin team, PG Funds Group member, previous board member PG.US
Dave Cramer (davec at postgresintl.com)
Crunchy Data
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Maintainer of the JDBC driver and contributes to PL/R.
Andrew Dunstan (andrew at dunslane.net)
EDB
Apex (near Raleigh), North Carolina, USA
Has contributed in a number of areas, including configuration and logging enhancements, dollar quoting, CSV import/export, upgraded plperlng, the Win32 port, rewriting the initdb and pg_ctl scripts in C, a double metaphone function in contrib, and maintains the buildfarm project.
Stephen Frost (sfrost at snowman.net)
Crunchy Data
Chantilly, VA, USA
Security improvements, GRANT improvements, patch review, project infrastructure.
Etsuro Fujita (etsuro.fujita at gmail.com)
NTT
Tokyo, Japan
Numerous improvements to postgres_fdw
Peter Geoghegan (pg at bowt.ie)
Crunchy Data
San Francisco, California, USA
Added various B-Tree performance enhancements, successive sort performance enhancements, amcheck (logical consistency checker), and INSERT ... ON CONFLICT DO UPDATE feature. Also works on bug fixes and patch review.
Andrew Gierth (andrew at tao11.riddles.org.uk)
UK
Hstore enhancements, ordered aggregates and ordered set functions, grouping sets, ip4r, and provides help and support in the IRC channel
Devrim Gündüz (devrim at gunduz.org)
EDB
London, United Kingdom
Coordinates RPM maintenance at https://yum.postgresql.org for Red Hat/CentOS/Fedora, at https://zypp.postgresql.org for SLES, helps website maintenance, and builds PostgreSQL related packages for Fedora and EPEL.
Robert Haas (robertmhaas at gmail.com)
EDB
USA
Principal author of parallel query. Scalability work, works all over the code with major patches, patch review. Created the original version of commitfest.postgresql.org.
Álvaro Herrera (alvherre at alvh.no-ip.org)
EDB
Valdivia, Chile
Fixed CLUSTER, worked on savepoints, added shared row locking, added shared dependency tracking, integrated autovacuum into the backend, added background workers, invented BRIN indexes, implemented some table partitioning DDL, and helps running the project online infrastructure
Petr Jelinek (petr.jelinek at enterprisedb.com)
EDB
Czech Republic
Logical Replication, DO statement, GRANT ON ALL, ALTER DEFAULT PRIVILEGES, TABLESAMPLE, etc. Works on BDR, pglogical and PgBouncer.
Stefan Kaltenbrunner (stefan at kaltenbrunner.cc)
conova communications GmbH
Austria
Helps manage the project online infrastructure and maintain the websites.
Amit Kapila (amit.kapila16 at gmail.com)
Fujitsu
Bangalore, India
Parallel Query, durable Hash Indexes, Performance Testing
Alexander Korotkov (aekorotkov at gmail.com)
Minsk, Belarus
Pluggable index access methods, SQL/JSON implementation, advances to GiST and GIN indexes, better algorithms for spatial and fuzzy string search, multicore system optimizations and more
Amit Langote (amitlangote09 at gmail.com)
EDB
Tokyo, Japan
Declarative table partitioning, pg_stat_progress_vacuum, improvements in partition elimination, partitioning performance
Guillaume Lelarge (guillaume at lelarge.info)
Dalibo
France
French translations (docs and apps), Patches on PostgreSQL and various tools
Heikki Linnakangas (heikki.linnakangas at iki.fi)
Pivotal
Helsinki, Finland
2 phase commit support, reworked FSM and VM, replication/transactions, indexing and much more
Fujii Masao (masao.fujii at gmail.com)
NTT Data
Japan
Streaming replication, synchronous replication
Noah Misch (noah at leadboat.com)
USA
Security work, patch review.
Thomas Munro (thomas.munro at gmail.com)
Microsoft
Wellington, New Zealand
Added Parallel Hash Join, SERIALIZABLE for parallel queries, FOR UPDATE SKIP LOCKED, remote_apply, replay_lag, trigger transition tables (co-author), various LDAP improvements, FreeBSD portability.
Michael Paquier (michael at paquier.xyz)
VMWare
Tokyo
Code review, bug fix, TAP testing, commit fest management.
Paul Ramsey (pramsey at cleverelephant.ca)
Crunchy Data
Victoria, BC, Canada
Extension support in postgres_fdw. PostGIS geospatial extension. HTTP extension. OGR FDW.
Simon Riggs (simon.riggs at enterprisedb.com)
EDB
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Point in Time Recovery, Table Partitioning, Hot Standby, Sync Replication, focuses on enterprise issues, security, performance and scalability, business intelligence and replication/high availability.
David Rowley (dgrowleyml at gmail.com)
Microsoft
Christchurch, New Zealand
Partial aggregation, parallel aggregation, moving aggregates, unique joins, run-time partition pruning, partitioning performance improvements and various query planner improvements.
Greg Sabino Mullane (greg at turnstep.com)
Deriv.com
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains DBD::Pg, Bucardo, check_postgres.pl, tail_n_mail, and works on advocacy issues.
Teodor Sigaev (teodor at sigaev.ru)
Postgres Professional
Moscow, Russia
Works on GIST, GIN and other indexes, full-text search, NoSQL features such as SQL/JSON and other extensions.
Pavel Stehule (pavel.stehule at gmail.com)
freelancer
Prague, Czech Republic
Has contributed numerous enhancements to PL/pgSQL
Tomas Vondra (tv at fuzzy.cz)
EDB
Prague, Czech Republic
CREATE STATISTICS, improvements to pageinspect, ANALYZE, distinct value estimates, hash join optimizations, special-purpose memory allocators

Contributors

Laurenz Albe (laurenz.albe at cybertec.at) Aleksander Alekseev (afiskon at gmail.com)
Gevik Babakhani (pgdev at xs4all.nl) Ashutosh Bapat (ashutosh.bapat.oss at gmail.com)
Christoph Berg (myon at debian.org) Marc Cave-Ayland (mark.cave-ayland at siriusit.co.uk)
Jeevan Chalke Damien Clochard (damien at dalibo.info)
Fabien Coelho (coelho at cri.ensmp.fr) Mithun Cy (mithun.cy at gmail.com)
Jeff Davis (pgsql at j-davis.com) Pavan Deolasee (pavan.deolasee at enterprisedb.com)
David Fetter (david at fetter.org) Dimitri Fontaine (dim at tapoueh.org)
Nikita Glukhov (n.gluhov at postgrespro.ru) Kevin Grittner (kgrittn at gmail.com)
Daniel Gustafsson (daniel at yesql.se) Emre Hasegeli (emre at hasegeli.com)
Stacey Haysler (shayslerpgx at gmail.com) Bernd Helmle (mailings at oopsware.de)
Kyotaro Horiguchi (horikyota_ntt at gmail.com) Corey Huinker (corey.huinker at gmail.com)
Hiroshi Inoue Tatsuo Ishii (t-ishii at sraoss.co.jp)
Jeff Janes (jeff.janes at gmail.com) David Johnston (david.g.johnston at gmail.com)
Andreas Karlsson (andreas at proxel.se) Amit Khandekar (amitdkhan.pg at gmail.com)
Alexey Klyukin (alexk at hintbits.com) KaiGai Kohei (kaigai at heterodb.com)
Haribabu Kommi (kommi.haribabu at gmail.com) Hannu Krosing (hannuk at google.com)
Dilip Kumar (dilipbalaut at gmail.com) Jeevan Ladhe (jeevan.ladhe at enterprisedb.com)
Rushabh Lathia (rushabh.lathia at gmail.com) Anastasia Lubennikova
Abhijit Menon-Sen (ams at 2ndQuadrant.com) Michael Meskes (meskes at postgresql.org)
Jim Nasby (Jim.Nasby at BlueTreble.com) John Naylor (john.naylor at enterprisedb.com)
Regina Obe (rl at pcorp.us) Euler Taveira de Oliveira (euler.taveira at enterprisedb.com)
Mike Palmiotto (mike.palmiotto at crunchydata.com) Dean Rasheed (dean.a.rasheed at gmail.com)
Marti Raudsepp (marti at juffo.org) Craig Ringer (craig at 2ndQuadrant.com)
Hiroshi Saito (hiroshi at winpg.jp) Sandro Santilli (strk at kbt.io)
Masahiko Sawada (sawada.mshk at gmail.com) Andreas Seltenreich (andreas.seltenreich at credativ.de)
Ashutosh Sharma (ashu.coek88 at gmail.com) Vladimir Sitnikov (sitnikov.vladimir at gmail.com)
Greg Stark (stark at mit.edu) David Steele (david at pgmasters.net)
Amul Sul (sulamul at gmail.com) Koichi Suzuki (koichi.suzuki at enterprisedb.com)
Marko Tiikkaja Robert Treat (rob at xzilla.net)
Takayuki Tsunakawa (tsunakawa.takay at fujitsu.com) David Wheeler (david at kineticode.com)
Mark Wong (markwkm at gmail.com)

Hackers Emeritus

The following hackers were previously part of the core team. Although they no longer work on the project, they are included here in recognition of their valuable contributions over the years.

Contributor Contribution
Josh Berkus (josh at agliodbs.com)
Red Hat Inc.
Portland, OR, USA
Provides general direction for PostgreSQL advocacy, works on performance testing, tuning and documentation, and works with user groups.
Marc G. Fournier (marc.fournier at enterprisedb.com)
EnterpriseDB, Inc.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Coordinated the entire effort, helped administer the postgresql.org websites, mailing lists, ftp site, and source code repository.
Thomas G. Lockhart (lockhart at alumni.caltech.edu)
Jet Propulsion Labratory
Pasadena, California, USA
Worked on documentation, data types (particularly date/time and geometric), and SQL standards compliance.
Vadim B. Mikheev (vadim4o at yahoo.com)
San Francisco, California, USA
Undertook large projects, like vacuum, subselects, triggers, Write Ahead Log (WAL) and multi-version concurrency control (MVCC).
Jan Wieck (jan at wi3ck.info)
Amazon Web Services
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Designed and implemented Slony, overhauled the query rewrite rule system, wrote the procedural languages PL/pgSQL and PL/Tcl, added foreign keys, bgwriter, the statistics collector, the TOAST system and other features.

Past Contributors

Julian Assange David Bennett
Dennis Björklund Alexey Borzov
Zoltán Böszörményi Emily Boyd
Christopher Browne Tim Bunce
D'Arcy Cain Emmanuel Checchet
Andrew Chernow Sean Chittenden
Justin Clift Neil Conway
Massimo Dal Zotto Selena Deckelmann
Dr_George_D Detlefsen Korry Douglas
Joshua Drake Chris Dunlop
J. Douglas Dunlop Oliver Elphick
Francisco Figueiredo Michael Fuhr
Brian E. Gallew Michael Glaesemann
Cees de Groot Thomas Hallgren
John Hansen Hitoshi Harada
Jonah Harris Alex Hunsaker
Brendan Jurd Kris Jurka
Christopher Kings-Lynne Mark Kirkwood
Manfred Koizar Sergey E. Koposov
Zdenek Kotala Marko Kreen
Anoop Kumar Randy Kunkee
Francalanci Leonardo Kurt J. Lidl
Barry Lind Robert Lor
Dan McGuirk Roberto Mello
Ernst Molitor Fernando Nasser
Claudio Natoli Matthew T. O'Connor
Lamar Owen Andreas Pflug
Ross J. Reedstrom Thomas van Reimersdahl
Larry Rosenman Sergej Sergeev
Jignesh Shah Gavin Sherry
Michael Siebenborn Guillaume Smet
Greg Smith Erich Stamberger
Adam Sussman Sven Suursoho
Stephan Szabo ITAGAKI Takahiro
Rod Taylor Yamada Tsutomu
Reini Urban Jan Urbański
Martijn van Oosterhout Paul "Shag" Walmsley
Philip Warner Rick Weldon
Joachim Wieland Jason Wright
Karel Zak Andreas Zeugswetter
Qingqing Zhou

All contributors are listed in alphabetical order. Please report omissions or corrections to the webmaster.