PostgreSQL 11 RC1 Released!

From: "Jonathan S(dot) Katz" <jkatz(at)postgresql(dot)org>
To: pgsql-announce(at)lists(dot)postgresql(dot)org
Subject: PostgreSQL 11 RC1 Released!
Date: 2018-10-11 13:34:52
Views: Raw Message | Whole Thread | Download mbox | Resend email
Lists: pgsql-announce

The PostgreSQL Global Development Group announces that the first release
candidate of PostgreSQL 11 is now available for download. As a release
candidate, PostgreSQL 11 RC 1 should be identical to the initial release
of PostgreSQL 11, though some more fixes may be applied prior to the
general availability of PostgreSQL 11.

Upgrading to PostgreSQL 11 RC 1

To upgrade to PostgreSQL 11 RC 1 from Beta 4 or an earlier version of
PostgreSQL 11, you will need to use a strategy similar to upgrading
between major versions of PostgreSQL (e.g. `pg_upgrade` or `pg_dump` /

For more information, please visit the documentation section on upgrading.

Changes Since 11 Beta 4

There have been many bug fixes for PostgreSQL 11 reported during the
Beta 4 period and applied to this release candidate. These fixes include:

* Fix a crash that occurred with event triggers on partitioned tables
* Ensure the `transaction_timestamp` function returns an updated
timestamp in
a stored procedure if it is called after a transaction is committed
* Disallow multiple primary keys to be created on partitions

For a detailed list of fixes, please visit the open items page:

Release Schedule

This is the first release candidate for PostgreSQL 11. Unless an issue
is discovered that warrants a delay or to produce an additional release
candidate, PostgreSQL 11 should be made generally available on October
18, 2018.

For further information please see the Beta Testing page:


* Download:
* Beta Testing Information:
* PostgreSQL 11 RC Release Notes:
* PostgreSQL 11 Open Issues:
* Submit a Bug:

Browse pgsql-announce by date

  From Date Subject
Next Message Keith Fiske 2018-10-12 20:34:44 pg_partman 4.0.0 released
Previous Message danap 2018-10-10 17:38:17 Ajqvue v2.10 Released