DROP OWNED drops all the objects within the current database that are owned by one of the specified roles. Any privileges granted to the given roles on objects in the current database or on shared objects (databases, tablespaces) will also be revoked.
The name of a role whose objects will be dropped, and whose privileges will be revoked.
Automatically drop objects that depend on the affected objects.
Refuse to drop the objects owned by a role if any other database objects depend on one of the affected objects. This is the default.
DROP OWNED is often used to prepare for the removal of one or more roles. Because DROP OWNED only affects the objects in the current database, it is usually necessary to execute this command in each database that contains objects owned by a role that is to be removed.
Using the CASCADE option might make the command recurse to objects owned by other users.
The REASSIGN OWNED command is an alternative that reassigns the ownership of all the database objects owned by one or more roles. However, REASSIGN OWNED does not deal with privileges for other objects.
Databases and tablespaces owned by the role(s) will not be removed.
See Section 20.4 for more discussion.
If you see anything in the documentation that is not correct, does not match your experience with the particular feature or requires further clarification, please use this form to report a documentation issue.