Databases are destroyed with the command DROP DATABASE:
Only the owner of the database, or a superuser, can drop a database. Dropping a database removes all objects that were contained within the database. The destruction of a database cannot be undone.
You cannot execute the
DATABASE command while connected to the victim database. You
can, however, be connected to any other database, including the
template1 would be the only option for dropping
the last user database of a given cluster.
For convenience, there is also a shell program to drop databases, dropdb:
createdb, it is not the
default action to drop the database with the current user
If you see anything in the documentation that is not correct, does not match your experience with the particular feature or requires further clarification, please use this form to report a documentation issue.