Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Re: Minor UI issues for Server Properties dialog box

From: Guillaume Lelarge <guillaume(at)lelarge(dot)info>
To: Dave Page <dpage(at)pgadmin(dot)org>
Cc: Josh Berkus <josh(at)agliodbs(dot)com>, PgAdmin Support <pgadmin-support(at)postgresql(dot)org>
Subject: Re: Minor UI issues for Server Properties dialog box
Date: 2011-01-20 07:36:35
Message-ID: 4D37E603.8020407@lelarge.info (view raw or flat)
Thread:
Lists: pgadmin-support
Le 20/01/2011 00:18, Dave Page a écrit :
> On Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 11:10 PM, Guillaume Lelarge
> <guillaume(at)lelarge(dot)info> wrote:
>> Le 19/01/2011 23:51, Guillaume Lelarge a écrit :
>>> Le 19/01/2011 23:42, Dave Page a écrit :
>>>> On Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 10:38 PM, Guillaume Lelarge
>>>> <guillaume(at)lelarge(dot)info> wrote:
>>>>> Le 16/01/2011 09:32, Dave Page a écrit :
>>>>>> On Sat, Jan 15, 2011 at 11:17 PM, Guillaume Lelarge
>>>>>> <guillaume(at)lelarge(dot)info> wrote:
>>>>>>> Le 15/01/2011 23:58, Josh Berkus a écrit :
>>>>>>>> Nothing showstopping, but:
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> 1) After you make changes in the Server Properties dialog, it gives you
>>>>>>>> the fairly useless message that "Some changes will not take effect until
>>>>>>>> the next time pgAdmin connects to the server".  The reason this message
>>>>>>>> is useless (and annoying) is that pgAdmin prevents you from changing
>>>>>>>> those fields unless you are disconnected from the server in the first place.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Yeah, I don't like it either. Need to be fixed.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Actually, it is correct; you can tweak the DB Restriction, but it
>>>>>> needs a full refresh to take effect. That said, it is inconsistent
>>>>>> from other settings.
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> I commited a patch that simply displays the message only when the user
>>>>> is connected to the server.
>>>>>
>>>>> Now, what I would like to know is if the other settings should stay
>>>>> disabled? why only some of them are disabled (or enabled)? shouldn't we
>>>>> just make them all enabled?
>>>>
>>>> I'd be inclined to make them all disabled.
>>>>
>>>
>>> When one is connected, right? (if not, we couldn't do much after
>>> creating it :) ). Which means we would get rid of the message, as a user
>>> won't be able to change server's settings once connected to it. Makes
>>> sense to me. Working on it.
>>>
>>
>> Got a patch, but I'm wondering if this is 1.12 material? or is it 1.14
>> only? actually, Josh's bug is fixed, so this could be 1.14 only. Any
>> opinions on this matter?
> 
> 1.14.
> 

Done. Thanks.


-- 
Guillaume
 http://www.postgresql.fr
 http://dalibo.com

In response to

pgadmin-support by date

Next:From: Guillaume LelargeDate: 2011-01-20 07:41:33
Subject: Re: Issues with large message / history buffers
Previous:From: BenoygopalDate: 2011-01-20 04:20:54
Subject: Re: BUG #5791: Tables are not viewing through pgadmin

Privacy Policy | About PostgreSQL
Copyright © 1996-2014 The PostgreSQL Global Development Group