Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Contributor Profiles

These are the fine people that make PostgreSQL what it is today!

Core Team

For more information on the purpose of the core team, please click here.

Contributor Contribution
Josh Berkus (josh at
PostgreSQL Experts Inc.
San Francisco, California, USA
Provides general direction for PostgreSQL advocacy, works on performance testing, tuning and documentation, and works with user groups.
Peter Eisentraut (peter_e at
New Hope, PA, USA
Works on the build system, porting, documentation, and the internationalization effort, and codes many other improvements.
Magnus Hagander (magnus at
Redpill Linpro
Stockholm, Sweden
Has done major work on the Win32 port, authentication system and more, and helps maintain the PostgreSQL websites and project infrastructure.
Tom Lane (tgl at
Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Involved in all aspects of PostgreSQL, including bug evaluation and fixes, performance improvements, and major new features, such as schemas. He is also responsible for the optimizer.
Bruce Momjian (bruce at
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains FAQ and TODO lists, codes, applies patches, and speaks at conferences.
Dave Page (dpage at
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Created and maintains pgAdmin, helps manage the websites and project infrastructure, and maintains the PostgreSQL installers.

Major Contributors

Contributor Contribution
Oleg Bartunov (oleg at
Postgres Professional, Lomonosov Moscow State University
Moscow, Russia
Introduced the locale support, has contributed GiST, GIN and SP-GiST extensibility infrastructures, full text search, KNN, NoSQL features (hstore and jsonb) and several extensions including fuzzy search, support for tree-like structures and arrays.
Zoltán Böszörményi (zb at
Multiple fixes to replication, ECPG, several SQL improvements, patch review
Marc Cave-Ayland (mark.cave-ayland at
United Kingdom
PGXS, many PostGIS and GiST improvements.
Dave Cramer (dave.cramer at
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Helps maintain the JDBC driver and works on PL/J.
Jeff Davis (pgsql at
Exclusion constraints, range types, reviews
Selena Deckelmann (selenamarie at
Portland, Oregon
PostgreSQL User Group liaison/coordinator, works on advocacy, the Bucardo replication engine and more.
Joshua Drake (jd at
Command Prompt, Inc
Director of PGUS, and contributor to project's advocacy efforts.
Andrew Dunstan (andrew at
Apex (near Raleigh), North Carolina, USA
Has contributed in a number of areas, including configuration and logging enhancements, dollar quoting, CSV import/export, upgraded plperlng, the Win32 port, rewriting the initdb and pg_ctl scripts in C, a double metaphone function in contrib, and maintains the buildfarm project.
David Fetter (david at
Disqus, Inc.
Oakland, California, United States
Works on pgFoundry, DBI-link, and the PostgreSQL Weekly News
Francisco Figueiredo (fxjrlists at
Project founder and lead developer of Npgsql, PostgreSQL's .NET data provider.
Dimitri Fontaine (dimitri at
Paris, France
Extensions, Skytools, pgloader, Event Triggers, prefix
Andres Freund (andres at
Berlin, Germany
Replication, scalability, bug fixing and patch review.
Stephen Frost (sfrost at
Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc.
Chantilly, VA, USA
Security improvements, GRANT improvements, patch review, project infrastructure.
Peter Geoghegan (peter.geoghegan86 at
San Francisco, California, USA
UPSERT, sorting improvements, pg_stat_statements, group commit
Andrew Gierth (andrew at
Patch review, bug fix contributions, works on hstore, ip4r and provides help and support in the IRC channel
Kevin Grittner (kgrittn at
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
SSI, commitfest manager, patch review, materialized views
Devrim Gündüz (devrim at
Istanbul, Türkiye
Coordinates RPM maintenance, helps website maintenance, builds PostgreSQL related packages for Fedora, maintains RPM repository for Fedora/RHEL/CentOS, maintains Fedora and CentOS based Live CD's, and leads our advocacy efforts in Turkey.
Robert Haas (robertmhaas at
Created, scalability work, works all over the code with major patches, patch review.
Hitoshi Harada (umi.tanuki at
Added and maintains CTEs
Álvaro Herrera (alvherre at
Valdivia, Chile
Fixed CLUSTER, worked on savepoints, added shared row locking, added shared dependency tracking, integrated autovacuum into the backend, added background workers, and helps running the project online infrastructure
Tatsuo Ishii (t-ishii at
Software Research Associates
Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan
Handles multi-byte foreign language support and porting issues.
Kris Jurka (jurka at
Denver, Colorado, USA
Maintains JDBC driver, PL/J
Stefan Kaltenbrunner (stefan at
conova communications GmbH
Grödig, Austria
Helps manage the project online infrastructure and maintain the websites.
KaiGai Kohei (kaigai at
SEPostgres, security improvements
Alexander Korotkov (aekorotkov at
Postgres Professional
Moscow, Russia
Advanced indexing support
Marko Kreen (markokr at
In addition to contributions to PostgreSQL itself, leads the development of PgBouncer, PL/Proxy and Skytools.
Guillaume Lelarge (guillaume at
Libpq improvements, pgAdmin, French docs
Heikki Linnakangas (hlinnakangas at
Helsinki, Finland
2 phase commit support, reworked FSM and VM, replication/transactions, indexing and much more
Fujii Masao (masao.fujii at
NTT Open Source
Streaming replication, synchronous replication
Michael Meskes (meskes at
Düsseldorf, Germany
Maintains ecpg.
Noah Misch (noah at
Security work, patch review.
Simon Riggs (simon at
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Point in Time Recovery, Table Partitioning, Hot Standby, Sync Replication, focuses on enterprise issues, performance and scalability, business intelligence and replication/high availability.
Greg Sabino Mullane (greg at
End Point Corporation
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains DBD::Pg, Bucardo,, tail_n_mail, and works on advocacy issues.
Teodor Sigaev (teodor at
Postgres Professional
Moscow, Russia
Works on GIST and other indexes, full-text search, support for tree-like structures and other GiST based modules.
Greg Smith (greg.smith at
Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc.
pgbench improvements, benchmarking, advocacy, auto-configuration work, patch review
Greg Stark (stark at
Dublin, Ireland
Author of concurrent index builds and var-varlena.
Pavel Stehule (pavel.stehule at
Has contributed numerous enhancements to PL/pgSQL
Koichi Suzuki (koichi.szk at
NTT Data Intellilink
Multiple patches, leads NTT contributions Leads Postgres-XC community
Robert Treat (rob at
Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Maintains the phpPgAdmin project, works on a number of advocacy related items
Martijn van Oosterhout (kleptog at
Delft, Netherlands
Worked on a number of features including libpq, psql, shared objects and libraries, shell types and warnings for improper config options.
David Wheeler (david at
PostgreSQL Experts
Portland, OR, USA
created PGXN, citext, pgTAP, advocacy
Jan Wieck (JanWieck at
Afilias USA INC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Designed and implemented Slony, overhauled the query rewrite rule system, wrote the procedural languages PL/pgSQL and PL/Tcl, added foreign keys, bgwriter, the statistics collector, the TOAST system and other features.
Joachim Wieland (joe at
Snapshot exporting, parallel pg_dump


Laurenz Albe (laurenz.albe at Gevik Babakhani (pgdev at
Christoph Berg (cb at Christopher Browne (cbbrowne at
Tim Bunce (Tim.Bunce at D'Arcy Cain (darcy at
Emmanuel Checchet (manu at Andrew Chernow (andrew at
Damien Clochard (damien at Fabien Coelho (coelho at
Joe Conway (mail at Pavan Deolasee (pavan.deolasee at
Korry Douglas (korryd at Michael Glaesemann (grzm at
Bernd Helmle (mailings at Alex Hunsaker (badalex at
Hiroshi Inoue (noue at Petr Jelinek (petr at
Brendan Jurd (direvus at Mark Kirkwood (markir at
Alexey Klyukin (alexk at Sergey E. Koposov (math at
Hannu Krosing (hannu at Francalanci Leonardo (m_lists at
Abhijit Menon-Sen (ams at Euler Taveira de Oliveira (euler at
Dean Rasheed (dean.a.rasheed at Marti Raudsepp (marti at
Craig Ringer (craig at Hiroshi Saito (hiroshi at
Jignesh Shah (jkshah at Guillaume Smet (guillaume.smet at
Marko Tiikkaja (marko.tiikkaja at Yamada Tsutomu (ns1090156 at
Jan Urbański (wulczer at Mark Wong (mark at

Hackers Emeritus

The following hackers were previously part of the core team. Although they no longer work on the project, they are included here in recognition of their valuable contributions over the years.

Contributor Contribution
Marc G. Fournier (scrappy at
Hub.Org Networking Services
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Coordinated the entire effort, helped administer the websites, mailing lists, ftp site, and source code repository.
Thomas G. Lockhart (lockhart at
Jet Propulsion Labratory
Pasadena, California, USA
Worked on documentation, data types (particularly date/time and geometric), and SQL standards compliance.
Vadim B. Mikheev (vadim4o at
San Francisco, California, USA
Undertook large projects, like vacuum, subselects, triggers, Write Ahead Log (WAL) and multi-version concurrency control (MVCC).

Past Contributors

Julian Assange (proff at David Bennett (dave at
Dennis Björklund (d at Alexey Borzov (borz_off at
Emily Boyd (emily at Sean Chittenden (sean at
Justin Clift (justin at Neil Conway (neilc at
Massimo Dal Zotto (dz at Dr_George_D Detlefsen (drgeorge at
Chris Dunlop (chris at J. Douglas Dunlop (dunlop at
Oliver Elphick (olly at Michael Fuhr (mike at
Brian E. Gallew (geek+ at Cees de Groot (C.deGroot at
Thomas Hallgren (thomas at John Hansen (john at
Jonah Harris (jonah.harris at Christopher Kings-Lynne (chris.kingslynne at
Manfred Koizar (mkoi-pg at Zdenek Kotala (zdenek.kotala at
Anoop Kumar (anoopk at Randy Kunkee (kunkee at Starbase.NeoSoft.COM)
Kurt J. Lidl (lidl at Barry Lind (barry at
Robert Lor (Robert.Lor at Dan McGuirk (mcguirk at
Roberto Mello (roberto.mello at Ernst Molitor (ernst.molitor at
Fernando Nasser (fnasser at Claudio Natoli (claudio.natoli at
Matthew T. O'Connor (matthew at Lamar Owen (lamar.owen at
Andreas Pflug (pgadmin at Ross J. Reedstrom (reedstrm at
Thomas van Reimersdahl (reimersd at Larry Rosenman (ler at
Sergej Sergeev (sergej at Gavin Sherry (gavin at
Michael Siebenborn (michael.siebenborn at ae3.Hypo.DE) Erich Stamberger (eberger at
Adam Sussman (myddryn at Sven Suursoho (sven at
Stephan Szabo (sszabo at ITAGAKI Takahiro (itagaki.takahiro at
Rod Taylor (pg at Reini Urban (urban at
Paul "Shag" Walmsley (ccshag at Philip Warner (pjw at
Rick Weldon (rick at Jason Wright (jason at
Karel Zak (kzak at Andreas Zeugswetter (ZeugswetterA at
Qingqing Zhou (zhouqq at

All contributors are listed in alphabetical order. Please report omissions or corrections to the webmaster.

Privacy Policy | About PostgreSQL
Copyright © 1996-2015 The PostgreSQL Global Development Group