Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Contributor Profiles

These are the fine people that make PostgreSQL what it is today!

Core Team

Contributor Contribution
Josh Berkus (josh at agliodbs.com)
PostgreSQL Experts Inc.
San Francisco, California, USA
Provides general direction for PostgreSQL advocacy, works on performance testing, tuning and documentation, and works with user groups.
Peter Eisentraut (peter_e at gmx.net)
MeetMe.com
New Hope, PA, USA
Works on the build system, porting, documentation, and the internationalization effort, and codes many other improvements.
Magnus Hagander (magnus at hagander.net)
Redpill Linpro
Stockholm, Sweden
Has done major work on the Win32 port, authentication system and more, and helps maintain the PostgreSQL websites and project infrastructure.
Tom Lane (tgl at sss.pgh.pa.us)
Salesforce
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Involved in all aspects of PostgreSQL, including bug evaluation and fixes, performance improvements, and major new features, such as schemas. He is also responsible for the optimizer.
Bruce Momjian (bruce at momjian.us)
EnterpriseDB
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains FAQ and TODO lists, codes, applies patches, and does training.
Dave Page (dpage at pgadmin.org)
EnterpriseDB
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Created and maintains pgAdmin, helps manage the postgresql.org websites and project infrastructure, and maintains the PostgreSQL installers.

Major Contributors

Contributor Contribution
Oleg Bartunov (oleg at sai.msu.su)
SAI-MSU
Moscow, Russia
Introduced the locale support and is improving GIST. Has contributed full text search support in PostgreSQL, fuzzy search, support for tree-like structures and other GiST based modules.
Zoltán Böszörményi (zb at cybertec.at)
Cybertec.AT
Austria
Multiple fixes to replication, ECPG, several SQL improvements, patch review
Marc Cave-Ayland (mark.cave-ayland at siriusit.co.uk)
United Kingdom
PGXS, many PostGIS and GiST improvements.
Dave Cramer (dave.cramer at credativ.ca)
credativ
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Helps maintain the JDBC driver and works on PL/J.
Jeff Davis (pgsql at j-davis.com)
Teradata.Aster
USA
Exclusion constraints, range types, reviews
Selena Deckelmann (selenamarie at gmail.com)
Mozilla
Portland, Oregon
PostgreSQL User Group liaison/coordinator, works on advocacy, the Bucardo replication engine and more.
Joshua Drake (jd at commandprompt.com)
Command Prompt, Inc
USA
Director of PGUS, and contributor to project's advocacy efforts.
Andrew Dunstan (andrew at dunslane.net)
Apex (near Raleigh), North Carolina, USA
Has contributed in a number of areas, including configuration and logging enhancements, dollar quoting, CSV import/export, upgraded plperlng, the Win32 port, rewriting the initdb and pg_ctl scripts in C, a double metaphone function in contrib, and maintains the buildfarm project.
David Fetter (david at fetter.org)
Disqus, Inc.
Oakland, California, United States
Works on pgFoundry, DBI-link, and the PostgreSQL Weekly News
Francisco Figueiredo (fxjrlists at yahoo.com.br)
Project founder and lead developer of Npgsql, PostgreSQL's .NET data provider.
Dimitri Fontaine (dimitri at 2ndQuadrant.fr)
2ndQuadrant
Paris, France
Extensions, Skytools, pgloader, Event Triggers, prefix
Andres Freund (andres at 2ndQuadrant.com)
2ndQuadrant
Germany
SQL Improvements, patch review, replication
Stephen Frost (sfrost at snowman.net)
Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc.
Chantilly, VA, USA
Security improvements, GRANT improvements, patch review, project infrastructure.
Peter Geoghegan (peter.geoghegan86 at gmail.com)
Heroku
Vancouver, Canada
pg_stat_statements, sorting improvements, group commit
Andrew Gierth (andrew at tao11.riddles.org.uk)
UK
Patch review, bug fix contributions, works on hstore, ip4r and provides help and support in the IRC channel
Kevin Grittner (kgrittn at ymail.com)
EnterpriseDB
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
SSI, commitfest manager, patch review, materialized views
Devrim Gündüz (devrim at gunduz.org)
EnterpriseDB
Istanbul, Türkiye
Coordinates RPM maintenance, helps website maintenance, builds PostgreSQL related packages for Fedora, maintains RPM repository for Fedora/RHEL/CentOS, maintains Fedora and CentOS based Live CD's, and leads our advocacy efforts in Turkey.
Robert Haas (robertmhaas at gmail.com)
EnterpriseDB
USA
Created commitfest.postgresql.org, scalability work, works all over the code with major patches, patch review.
Hitoshi Harada (umi.tanuki at gmail.com)
Japan
Added and maintains CTEs
Álvaro Herrera (alvherre at 2ndQuadrant.com)
2ndQuadrant
Valdivia, Chile
Fixed CLUSTER, worked on savepoints, added shared row locking, added shared dependency tracking, integrated autovacuum into the backend, added background workers, and helps running the project online infrastructure
Tatsuo Ishii (t-ishii at sra.co.jp)
Software Research Associates
Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan
Handles multi-byte foreign language support and porting issues.
Kris Jurka (jurka at ejurka.com)
Denver, Colorado, USA
Maintains JDBC driver, PL/J
Stefan Kaltenbrunner (stefan at kaltenbrunner.cc)
conova communications GmbH
Grödig, Austria
Helps manage the project online infrastructure and maintain the websites.
KaiGai Kohei (kaigai at ak.jp.nec.com)
NEC
Japan
SEPostgres, security improvements
Alexander Korotkov (aekorotkov at gmail.com)
Moscow, Russia
Advanced indexing support
Marko Kreen (markokr at gmail.com)
Skype
In addition to contributions to PostgreSQL itself, leads the development of Skype's Skytools for PostgreSQL
Guillaume Lelarge (guillaume at lelarge.info)
Dalibo
France
Libpq improvements, pgAdmin, French docs
Heikki Linnakangas (hlinnakangas at vmware.com)
VMWare
Helsinki, Finland
2 phase commit support, reworked FSM and VM, replication/transactions, indexing and much more
Fujii Masao (masao.fujii at gmail.com)
NTT Open Source
Japan
Streaming replication, synchronous replication
Michael Meskes (meskes at postgresql.org)
Credativ
Düsseldorf, Germany
Maintains ecpg.
Noah Misch (noah at leadboat.com)
USA
Security work, patch review.
Simon Riggs (simon at 2ndquadrant.com)
2ndQuadrant
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Point in Time Recovery, Table Partitioning, Hot Standby, Sync Replication, focuses on enterprise issues, performance and scalability, business intelligence and replication/high availability.
Greg Sabino Mullane (greg at turnstep.com)
End Point Corporation
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Maintains DBD::Pg, Bucardo, check_postgres.pl, tail_n_mail, and works on advocacy issues.
Teodor Sigaev (teodor at sigaev.ru)
Mail.Ru Group
Moscow, Russia
Works on GIST and other indexes, full-text search, support for tree-like structures and other GiST based modules.
Greg Smith (greg.smith at crunchydatasolutions.com)
Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc.
USA
pgbench improvements, benchmarking, advocacy, auto-configuration work, patch review
Greg Stark (stark at mit.edu)
Google
Dublin, Ireland
Author of concurrent index builds and var-varlena.
Pavel Stehule (pavel.stehule at gmail.com)
Has contributed numerous enhancements to PL/pgSQL
Koichi Suzuki (koichi.szk at gmail.com)
NTT Data Intellilink
Japan
Multiple patches, leads NTT contributions Leads Postgres-XC community
Robert Treat (rob at xzilla.net)
OmniTI
Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Maintains the phpPgAdmin project, works on a number of advocacy related items
Martijn van Oosterhout (kleptog at svana.org)
Delft, Netherlands
Worked on a number of features including libpq, psql, shared objects and libraries, shell types and warnings for improper config options.
David Wheeler (david at kineticode.com)
PostgreSQL Experts
Portland, OR, USA
created PGXN, citext, pgTAP, advocacy
Jan Wieck (JanWieck at Yahoo.com)
Afilias USA INC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Designed and implemented Slony, overhauled the query rewrite rule system, wrote the procedural languages PL/pgSQL and PL/Tcl, added foreign keys, bgwriter, the statistics collector, the TOAST system and other features.
Joachim Wieland (joe at mcknight.de)
Snapshot exporting, parallel pg_dump

Contributors

Laurenz Albe (laurenz.albe at wien.gv.at) Gevik Babakhani (pgdev at xs4all.nl)
Christoph Berg (cb at df7cb.de) Christopher Browne (cbbrowne at ca.afilias.info)
Tim Bunce (Tim.Bunce at pobox.com) D'Arcy Cain (darcy at druid.net)
Emmanuel Checchet (manu at asterdata.com) Andrew Chernow (andrew at esilo.com)
Damien Clochard (damien at dalibo.info) Fabien Coelho (coelho at cri.ensmp.fr)
Joe Conway (mail at joeconway.com) Pavan Deolasee (pavan.deolasee at gmail.com)
Korry Douglas (korryd at enterprisedb.com) Michael Glaesemann (grzm at myrealbox.com)
Bernd Helmle (mailings at oopsware.de) Alex Hunsaker (badalex at gmail.com)
Hiroshi Inoue (noue at tpf.co.jp) Petr Jelinek (pjmodos at pjmodos.net)
Brendan Jurd (direvus at gmail.com) Mark Kirkwood (markir at paradise.net.nz)
Alexey Klyukin (alexk at commandprompt.com) Sergey E. Koposov (math at sai.msu.ru)
Hannu Krosing (hannu at 2ndQuadrant.com) Francalanci Leonardo (m_lists at yahoo.it)
Abhijit Menon-Sen (ams at 2ndQuadrant.com) Euler Taveira de Oliveira (euler at timbira.com)
Dean Rasheed (dean.a.rasheed at gmail.com) Marti Raudsepp (marti at juffo.org)
Craig Ringer (craig at 2ndQuadrant.com) Hiroshi Saito (hiroshi at winpg.jp)
Jignesh Shah (jkshah at vmware.com) Guillaume Smet (guillaume.smet at openwide.fr)
Marko Tiikkaja (marko.tiikkaja at cs.helsinki.fi) Yamada Tsutomu (ns1090156 at gmail.com)
Jan Urbański (wulczer at wulczer.org) Mark Wong (markwkm at postgresql.org)

Hackers Emeritus

The following hackers were previously part of the core team. Although they no longer work on the project, they are included here in recognition of their valuable contributions over the years.

Contributor Contribution
Marc G. Fournier (scrappy at hub.org)
Hub.Org Networking Services
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Coordinated the entire effort, helped administer the postgresql.org websites, mailing lists, ftp site, and source code repository.
Thomas G. Lockhart (lockhart at alumni.caltech.edu)
Jet Propulsion Labratory
Pasadena, California, USA
Worked on documentation, data types (particularly date/time and geometric), and SQL standards compliance.
Vadim B. Mikheev (vadim4o at yahoo.com)
San Francisco, California, USA
Undertook large projects, like vacuum, subselects, triggers, Write Ahead Log (WAL) and multi-version concurrency control (MVCC).

Past Contributors

Julian Assange (proff at suburbia.net) David Bennett (dave at bensoft.com)
Dennis Björklund (d at zigo.dhs.org) Alexey Borzov (borz_off at cs.msu.su)
Emily Boyd (emily at emilyboyd.com) Sean Chittenden (sean at chittenden.org)
Justin Clift (justin at postgresql.org) Neil Conway (neilc at samurai.com)
Massimo Dal Zotto (dz at cs.unitn.it) Dr_George_D Detlefsen (drgeorge at ilt.com)
Chris Dunlop (chris at onthe.net.au) J. Douglas Dunlop (dunlop at eol.ists.ca)
Oliver Elphick (olly at lfix.co.uk) Michael Fuhr (mike at fuhr.org)
Brian E. Gallew (geek+ at cmu.edu) Cees de Groot (C.deGroot at inter.NL.net)
Thomas Hallgren (thomas at tada.se) John Hansen (john at geeknet.com.au)
Jonah Harris (jonah.harris at gmail.com) Christopher Kings-Lynne (chris.kingslynne at gmail.com)
Manfred Koizar (mkoi-pg at aon.at) Zdenek Kotala (zdenek.kotala at sun.com)
Anoop Kumar (anoopk at pervasive-postgres.com) Randy Kunkee (kunkee at Starbase.NeoSoft.COM)
Kurt J. Lidl (lidl at va.pubnix.com) Barry Lind (barry at xythos.com)
Robert Lor (Robert.Lor at Sun.com) Dan McGuirk (mcguirk at indirect.com)
Roberto Mello (roberto.mello at gmail.com) Ernst Molitor (ernst.molitor at uni-bonn.de)
Fernando Nasser (fnasser at redhat.com) Claudio Natoli (claudio.natoli at memetrics.com)
Matthew T. O'Connor (matthew at zeut.net) Lamar Owen (lamar.owen at wgcr.org)
Andreas Pflug (pgadmin at pse-consulting.de) Ross J. Reedstrom (reedstrm at rice.edu)
Thomas van Reimersdahl (reimersd at dali.techinfo.rwth-aachen.de) Larry Rosenman (ler at lerctr.org)
Sergej Sergeev (sergej at commandprompt.com) Gavin Sherry (gavin at alcove.com.au)
Michael Siebenborn (michael.siebenborn at ae3.Hypo.DE) Erich Stamberger (eberger at gewi.kfunigraz.ac.at)
Adam Sussman (myddryn at vidya.com) Sven Suursoho (sven at spam.pri.ee)
Stephan Szabo (sszabo at megazone23.bigpanda.com) ITAGAKI Takahiro (itagaki.takahiro at oss.ntt.co.jp)
Rod Taylor (pg at rbt.ca) Reini Urban (urban at x-ray.at)
Paul "Shag" Walmsley (ccshag at cclabs.missouri.edu) Philip Warner (pjw at rhyme.com.au)
Rick Weldon (rick at wisetech.com) Jason Wright (jason at shiloh.vnet.net)
Karel Zak (kzak at redhat.com) Andreas Zeugswetter (ZeugswetterA at wien.spardat.at)
Qingqing Zhou (zhouqq at cs.toronto.edu)

All contributors are listed in alphabetical order. Please report omissions or corrections to the webmaster.


Privacy Policy | About PostgreSQL
Copyright © 1996-2014 The PostgreSQL Global Development Group