Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Re: 2007 DST change not working

From: "Chad Wagner" <chad(dot)wagner(at)gmail(dot)com>
To: "Tom Lane" <tgl(at)sss(dot)pgh(dot)pa(dot)us>
Cc: "Frank Bax" <fbax(at)sympatico(dot)ca>, pgsql-novice(at)postgresql(dot)org
Subject: Re: 2007 DST change not working
Date: 2007-01-01 21:36:07
Message-ID: 81961ff50701011336y38d9b29ch6e9e3eb9b482c81a@mail.gmail.com (view raw or flat)
Thread:
Lists: pgsql-novice
Tom,
    I compared Canada/Eastern to US/Eastern and they are out of date for
8.1.5, but 8.2 is OK.

PostgreSQL 8.1.5
$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v /usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  |grep 2007
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun
Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun
Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun
Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun
Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

PostgreSQL 8.2.0
$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v /usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  |grep 2007
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun
Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun
Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun
Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/pgsql/timezone/Canada/Eastern  Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun
Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000


On 1/1/07, Tom Lane <tgl(at)sss(dot)pgh(dot)pa(dot)us> wrote:
>
> Frank Bax <fbax(at)sympatico(dot)ca> writes:
> > My query produces the correct results for 2005 and 2006; but in 2007 DST
> > dates are changing in North America and my query seems to still be using
> > 2006 rules for 2007 data.
>
> You certain this is PG 8.1?  Every release of 8.1.x has shipped with
> timezone data files that included the 2007 rule change.  In the 8.0
> series, 8.0.4 and up should have that update.  PG 7.x releases are
> dependent on the operating system's timezone knowledge.
>
> FWIW, my copy of 8.1.5 produces
>
> regression=# select * from dst where tzage <> '12 hrs';
>           tz1           |          tz2           |  tzage
> ------------------------+------------------------+----------
> 2005-04-03 00:00:00-05 | 2005-04-03 12:00:00-04 | 11:00:00
> 2005-10-30 00:00:00-04 | 2005-10-30 12:00:00-05 | 13:00:00
> 2006-04-02 00:00:00-05 | 2006-04-02 12:00:00-04 | 11:00:00
> 2006-10-29 00:00:00-04 | 2006-10-29 12:00:00-05 | 13:00:00
> 2007-03-11 00:00:00-05 | 2007-03-11 12:00:00-04 | 11:00:00
> 2007-11-04 00:00:00-04 | 2007-11-04 12:00:00-05 | 13:00:00
> (6 rows)
>
> where
>
> regression=# show timezone;
>      TimeZone
> ------------------
> America/New_York
> (1 row)
>
> (Another possibility I guess is you have the wrong timezone setting?)
>
>                         regards, tom lane
>
> ---------------------------(end of broadcast)---------------------------
> TIP 5: don't forget to increase your free space map settings
>

In response to

Responses

pgsql-novice by date

Next:From: Chad WagnerDate: 2007-01-01 21:38:03
Subject: Re: 2007 DST change not working
Previous:From: Tom LaneDate: 2007-01-01 21:21:57
Subject: Re: 2007 DST change not working

Privacy Policy | About PostgreSQL
Copyright © 1996-2014 The PostgreSQL Global Development Group