Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Re: TimeZone List

From: Naz Gassiep <naz(at)mira(dot)net>
To: Alvaro Herrera <alvherre(at)commandprompt(dot)com>
Cc: pgsql-general(at)postgresql(dot)org
Subject: Re: TimeZone List
Date: 2007-05-30 02:13:16
Message-ID: 465CDDBC.5070102@mira.net (view raw or flat)
Thread:
Lists: pgsql-general
Alvaro Herrera wrote:
> alvherre=# select * from pg_timezone_names ;
>                name               | abbrev | utc_offset | is_dst 
> ----------------------------------+--------+------------+--------
>  Africa/Algiers                   | CET    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Luanda                    | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Porto-Novo                | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Gaborone                  | CAT    | 02:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Ouagadougou               | GMT    | 00:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Bujumbura                 | CAT    | 02:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Douala                    | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Bangui                    | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Ndjamena                  | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Kinshasa                  | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Lubumbashi                | CAT    | 02:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Brazzaville               | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Abidjan                   | GMT    | 00:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Djibouti                  | EAT    | 03:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Cairo                     | EEST   | 03:00:00   | t
>  Africa/Malabo                    | WAT    | 01:00:00   | f
>  Africa/Asmera                    | EAT    | 03:00:00   | f
> ...
>
> alvherre=# select * from pg_timezone_abbrevs ;
>  abbrev | utc_offset | is_dst 
> --------+------------+--------
>  ACSST  | 10:30:00   | t
>  ACST   | -04:00:00  | t
>  ACT    | -05:00:00  | f
>  ADT    | -03:00:00  | t
>  AESST  | 11:00:00   | t
>  AEST   | 10:00:00   | f
>  AFT    | 04:30:00   | f
>  AKDT   | -08:00:00  | t
>  AKST   | -09:00:00  | f
>  ALMST  | 07:00:00   | t
> ...
>   

Ok, that's kinda cool. But can I trust those names to not change from
version to version?

And how are conflicts in the abbreviations handled? (for example, EST is
a valid time zone for the US and Australia).

Also, whats with the
"Etc/GMT+x" timezones? I assume they are just standard integer offset
values? I'd probably filter them out in the app using "WHERE
substring(name FROM 0 FOR 3) <> "Etc" are there any caveats for doing this?

Thanks,
- Naz

In response to

Responses

pgsql-general by date

Next:From: Michael FuhrDate: 2007-05-30 02:29:12
Subject: Re: function retuning refcursor, order by ignored?
Previous:From: Alvaro HerreraDate: 2007-05-30 02:04:19
Subject: Re: SELECT <all fields except "bad_field"> from mytbl;

Privacy Policy | About PostgreSQL
Copyright © 1996-2014 The PostgreSQL Global Development Group